fbpx City of Presidents | VisitRapidCity.com

James Monroe

John Quincy Adams

Lyndon B. Johnson

William Howard Taft

Martin Van Buren

John F. Kennedy

Andrew Jackson

Franklin Pierce

Theodore Roosevelt

James Buchanan

Abraham Lincoln

Warren G. Harding

Woodrow Wilson

Millard Fillmore

Zachary Taylor

John Tyler

Harry S. Truman

William Henry Harrison

Gerald Ford

James Madison

Thomas Jefferson

Bill Clinton

Jimmy Carter

George Washington

Ronald Reagan

Andrew Johnson

Richard Nixon

Dwight D. Eisenhower

James Polk

George W. Bush

Grover Cleveland

Rutherford Hayes

Benjamin Harrison

James Garfield

Ulysses S. Grant

William McKinley

Chester Arthur

Franklin D. Roosevelt

Herbert Hoover

Calvin Coolidge

George H.W. Bush

John Adams

Barack Obama


Visitors to Downtown Rapid City are greeted by the City of Presidents, a series of life-size bronze statues of our nation’s past presidents along the city’s streets and sidewalks. Whether you’re enjoying downtown shopping, dining or other attractions, you can experience this walking tour free of charge. 

The City of Presidents project began in 2000 to honor the legacy of the American presidency. Each sculpture is privately funded, and the pattern of placement was chosen to maintain orderly structure and eliminate any sense of favoritism or political gain. The City of Presidents is part of the Rapid City Historic District Tour.