Rapid City Awards

Frontline Representative of the Year

The Frontline Representative of the Year award recognizes an individual who is a top performer in their position as a frontline customer service representative. This individual exemplifies excellence in hospitality and customer service, while being flexible and giving personal attention to develop and maintain relationships with customers.

2016 Winner
Jane Riedl, Front Desk Supervisor
Best Western Ramkota of Rapid City

2015 Winner
Colleen Murphy, Travel Counselor
AAA Travel of Rapid City

2014 Winner
Gail Penning, Front Desk Clerk
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center

2013 Winner
Theresa Fischer, Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn

2012 Winner
Karrie Eilbeck
Firehouse Brewing Co.

Karrie Eilbeck from Firehouse Brewing Co. with George Washington

Black Hills Hero Award

Since 1990 Visit Rapid City has been proud to present the Black Hills Hero Award to a person or organization who has been instrumental in bringing a large number of people in Rapid City and the Black Hills for an event or a convention.

Without the great support we get from local residents who are proud of Rapid City and anxious to share it with their counterparts from all over the country and world, Visit Rapid City would not be as successful as it is.

2015 Winner
Recipient: Lutheran Women's Missionary Society

2015 Black Hills Hero Award Lutheran Women's Missionary Society

2014 Winner
Recipient: Michelle Lintz

2014 Black Hills Hero Award Michelle Lintz

2013 Winner
Event: National Indian Education Association
Recipients: Chris and Deb Bordeaux, Suzanne White Lance,
Robert Cook, and other planning committee members


Extra Mile Award

Each year, Visit Rapid City awards an outstanding member in the tourism industry with its prestigious Extra Mile Award. The award was designed to congratulate and thank a recipient for going that "extra mile" in order to advance the tourism industry in Rapid City.

These recipients understand the importance of tourism and support the efforts of Visit Rapid City and other tourism related organizations throughout the Black Hills, that advance tourism in our area.

2016 Winner
Tony DeMaro, Slainte LLC

2015 Winner
Bob Fuchs, Managing Partner
Fat Boys, Inc.

2014 Winner
Mount Rushmore Tours and Fort Hays Chuckwagon

2013 Winner
Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn

VRC Awards

Excellence in Innovation, South Dakota Tourism Conference (2013)

  • The Excellence in Innovation Award is presented to a member of the South Dakota visitor industry for thinking “outside the box” when it comes to promoting their business, organization, or destination. Visit Rapid City is the inaugural recipient of the award for the Mount Rushmore Mascots marketing efforts to promote Mount Rushmore in Colorado.

Bruce Riley McDaniel Award, Upper Midwest CVB Fall Conference (2012)

  • The Bruce Riley McDaniel award originated to recognize Bruce McDaniel’s valuable contribution to industry education. He was a strong advocate of education and realized a need for continued learning for smaller convention and visitors bureaus that have limited budgets, making it difficult to afford national-level education relevant to the tourism industry. Each year, a destination marketing organization is awarded for their creativity and innovation within the industry. Visit Rapid City received the Bruce Riley McDaniel Award for the Mount Rushmore Mascots.

ADDY Awards

  • The ADDY Awards competition is the industry's largest and most representative competition for creative excellence. The ADDY Awards recognize and celebrate the spirit of creative excellence in all forms of advertising. The Gold ADDY is identified as superior to all other entries in the competition.

Silver Addy Award for Online/Interactive Shoulder Season Rich Media, Regional Addy Competition (2016)

         Visit Rapid City received this award for the rich media interactive ad.

Gold Addy Award for Non-traditional Advertising, Regional Addy Competition (2012)

  • Visit Rapid City received this award for the Mount Rushmore Mascots.

Judge's Choice Award, Regional Addy Competition (2012)

  • Visit Rapid City received this award for the Mount Rushmore Mascots.